2011 NBA Finals

The 2011 NBA Finals was the championship series of the 2010–11 period of the National Basketball Association (NBA) where the Western Conference champion Dallas Mavericks defeated the Eastern Conference champion Miami Heat four games to two to win their first NBA championship. The show was held from May 31. German participant Dirk Nowitzki was named the Finals MVP, becoming the second European to win the award following Tony Parker (2007) and the first German participant to achieve that. The series was a rematch of the 2006 NBA Finals, which the Heat had won in six matches.
Going into the series, the Heat were heavy favorites using their newly acquired superstars LeBron James and Chris Bosh along with returning superstar Dwyane Wade.
The Dallas Mavericks became the first team in NBA history since the establishment of the two –3–2 format to enter Game 3 tied at one, eliminate Game 3 and still win the Finals. The past 11 times this occurred, the Game 3 winner went on to win the series.The Mavericks also became the 7th team, and also the first since 1988, to return and win the Finals after being down in the show two or more independent times (one game to none, and later two games to one). The past six times that occurred, the Finals ended in seven matches; Dallas became the first team in NBA history to take action in six games.
ABC gained a 10.1 rating, 11.7 million families and nearly 17.3 million viewers with the 2011 Finals, based on Nielsen.

Read more: usavallblacks.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.